top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKene Orakwue

Good Week

Updated: May 13, 2019

It’s been awhile but, yesterday Rachel cut my hair and the joy and love in this group surpassed my expectations. Everyone came and watched and it was such a support. Also going to the mall to see the incredibles 2 was equally amazing. Today was also really good! We planned out curriculum to teach in the schools tomorrow, I’m excited to see how it goes.

June 29- Ran our first SRH club today and it was a success. The kids were much more knowledgeable than expected and wanted to participate and learn, after they got their giggles out. I’m really excited to see how next week goes.












Today a man grabbed me by the wrist and told me: " I will pregnant you before you go to the US, you will be the mother of my children" and then after I released myself from his grip, he continued to follow me down the street repeating " I will pregnant you " and used hand motions to show me a big stomach in case I was confused.


Today was probably the best Twi lesson so far. Because Becky includes so many relevant antidotes. First her addressing her frustration with culture being wiped out. How children know English very well but not their native language. And then her frustration with politicians- there are no jobs, you can go to school but no where to work after and your certificate means nothing anywhere else. The government will make more schools and when you go on service force you to work there but there’s nothing to do after. And people will do anything to leave. I’m looking around and seeing SO many smart people but because of the cards they’ve been dealt, they literally don’t have the option to do anything fulfilling. These stories hit really close to home for me and I almost wanted to tear up.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page