top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKene Orakwue

Hills and Valleys

Updated: May 27, 2020

So I think at this point I’ve had about 20 different people ask me why I got this tattoo. “It’s pretty but why?”. The short answer is: I don’t know, it just felt right.




I feel like I’ve always been obsessed with mountains. One of my favorite Christmas songs growing up was ‘Go Tell it on the Mountain’. I’ve always been astonished at how magical nature is. The fact that two tectonic plates smash together, create all this pressure, and then create this beautiful peak, is amazing to me.


My love for mountains carried on. I really do like hiking, although I do not hike as much as I should. One of my all-timeall-time favorite bible verses is Matthew 17:20, If you have faith the size of a mustard seed and say to the mountain ‘move’, it will move. Nothing will be impossible.

One of my all time favorite Christian songs is Hills and Valleys by Tauren Wells.

After reading The Alchemist senior year of high school, I was reminded that life is about the journey not the destination (I guess Miley tried to tell me first).


Mountains have just seemed to always surround me.


This tattoo is a reminder that life is not linear, not easy, not straight forward. Life is full of ups and downs, hills and valleys. This tattoo is a survival tattoo. A reminder that I’ve been through my worst but also the best, and there’s only more peaks and summits to come. This tattoo is a growth tattoo, a symbol that we only continue to rise from the ups and downs in life. This tattoo resembles resilience, for all the times I’ve hiked up those mountains and seeked new heights. This tattoo is a permanent reminder to get up every daymakes and choose myself. The climb may be hard but it is so so worth it in the end. This tattoo is my hills and valleys. It is the life I have created to hike through. It is the journey I will enjoy, and will not go through alone.


So like I said, the short answer is it felt right. But maybe now my tattoo and blog title make a little more sense :)



I drew it myself

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page